Heartland Lakes Development Commission

Mission Statement – Inspire and Retain Economic Growth

Vision Statement – Facilitate innovation, cooperation and economic growth in the region by enhancing and leveraging the area’s unique assets through leadership, valued programs, and resources while maintaining our vibrant community.


Values Statement
Heartland Lakes Development Commission is ACCOUNTABLE for delivering tangible, measurable results in economic development, by delivering our mission, vision and values with INTEGRITY.  Through our LEADERSHIP we passionately inspire a vibrant economy by finding CREATIVE ways to find the right answer, and encourage COLLABORATION by leveraging the County’s collective genius.

Mary Thompson
Executive Director for Heartland Lakes Development Commission
mthompson@hrdc.org | 218.368.7980
Julie Kjenaas
Administrative Support Special for HLDC
jkjenaas@hrdc.org | 218.732.2256
Carolyn Pfeifer
Property Management Specialist for Hubbard County Housing and Redevelopment Authorityr
cpfeifer@hrdc.org | 218.732.9118

Board of Directors

Tom Conway, Chair (City of Park Rapids)
Charlene Christensen, Vice – Chair (Hubbard County)
Ryan Leckner, Secretary/Treasurer (City of Park Rapids)
David De La Hunt (Hubbard County)
Christine Fox (Business)
Kathy Grell (Business)
Brent Swanson (Business)

Ex – Officio Members

Butch De La Hunt, Executive Director (Park Rapids Lakes Area Chamber of Commerce)
Ryan Mathisrud, City Administrator (City of Park Rapids)
Eric Nerness, County Coordinator (Hubbard County)
  • Park Rapids
  • Nevis
  • Akeley
  • Dorset
  • Lake George
  • Itasca State Park